Day 15


Ahh no rain this morning, can I get a what what !!!! Plus I woke up in a dry tent, can I get a hell yeah!!!!! Let me just tell you that I’m as joyous as a hiker that found trail magic today!!!!

I woke up at the water catchment system after getting in a little late last night with Davey Bananas after some cliffside night hiking and finding our guthooks water source, which was a 1/4 mile off trail but turned out to have good campsites around it, so that was a win!!!
But this morning leaving out, I said my temporary good byes to Davey as he hopped on trail as I stayed behind and slept for an extra hour or more knowing that my get off point was a easy 13 miles today to the trailhead going into Superior.
With it being a Sunday, I figured I would get a hitch fairly easy since there were day hikers and mountain bikers everywhere and what do you know I did from a young girl name Sarah, her mom and grandmother that were just out for a day hike.
To make it even better, they asked me to even have lunch with them while riding into town and tell them stories of my hikes and travels.

Getting into Superior we ended up eating at this awesome cafe and stories started filling the air around the table and laughter went haywire from there but definitely as a sidenote I thought the Minnesota ascents were pretty entertaining too.
After our lunch I said my thank yous and farewells as they continued towards Apache Junction.

Shortly after, I went next door to have a beer before Ben arrived to give me a lift back to Phoenix for my bus ride back to Flagstaff in morning.
Along the way I even received news of my REI and another 160+ stores being closed temporarily for a few days because of the coronavirus, so that created some thinking on the desert ride to Phoenix.
After all of the panic and hysteria, it’s been interesting with the local stores getting bought out because I would’ve been,let’s face it, up the creek without a paddle leaving from Superior.
The next town was going to be a small one and the odds of resupplying would’ve been slim considering some grocery stores in Superior aren’t even receiving some of their basic produce.
Last thing you need is to be out of service for another week with no news info to check on, and then get into a town and figure out its quarantined and you can’t get a resupply and also be stuck in town or even be rejected from coing into the town.
Sorry but it’s the reality of it for those who have never done this.
Long distance hikes aren’t just a stroll through the park,continously having a good and bad time while playing chess is my metaphor for it and it can be risky but still fun.
Just understanding when to pull parachute is the major key, that’s just what I did based on my condition and situation.

Hiking to Superior
Me and Davey Bananas warming back up to do finish 26 mile day

Leave a comment